In the Beginning was the Word

To be honest, I’m not sure how far I want to get into this blog thing, or why. But the process of setting it up has been fun and it’s made me think  a lot about words and language. Where would we be without them?

In the beginning was the Word, and the Word was with God, and the Word was God. He was with God in the beginning. Through him all things were made; without him nothing was made that has been made. In him was life, and that life was the light of men.

What? How is Jesus the Word? Does that mean He IS language, along with the other gifts He is like love and light and life? Does it mean that without language, there is no creation? Creating/creation is what this blog is about…my inadequate words exploring and reflecting back the gifts we’ve been given.

The first word I spoke as a baby was “keys” and I’ve been searching for keys ever since. Maybe one big key is words. What are your key words, and how do they help create your life?

Wikipedia, a source I put entirely too much faith in, reports:

“The Gospel of John identifies the Logos, through which all things are made, as divine (theos),[7] and further identifies Jesus as the incarnation of the Logos.”

and

“The Greek word rhema is useful to distinguish between two meanings of word. While both rhema and logos are translated into the English word, in the original Greek there was a substantial distinction. Rhema is Christ’s utterance, which extends to the Christian who is part of His body. Logos (Christianity) refers to Christ himself, and further to his extended body, the Church. So whenever a Christian talks the word of Christ, his uttering can be called rhema. And whoever is a Christian can be described as part of the logos, as long as the link with Christ is maintained where the Holy Spirit is not absent.”

Another gift from being made in God’s image is that we’ve been granted the power to create along with God, and words are one way we do that. We have so much power that it’s overwhelming! Sometimes I wonder why God grants us so much power. Power to destroy and power to create. God doesn’t limit us enough, it seems to me. We have the power to destroy our earth, our families, our ties to one another.

So back to your words…how do you use them? What words keep coming up for you as a recurring theme and what is that leading you to create?

Some key words for me are:blessed, beauty, grace, seek, truth, free, color, home…and so many more.

Thanks for reading, as always! Please let me know what you think.

6 thoughts on “In the Beginning was the Word

  1. “Power to create and the power to destroy” – without these we would not have free will – which is the highest power that He retains. The simple fact that we “choose” to follow him.

    True meaning and usage of verbaige is so vital in , not only todays society, but in personal growth and achievement.
    Interesting topic for your first!! ;).

    • Thank you so much for your comment and for subscribing! That totally makes my day! Yep…He sure did something there with the free will grant. What was He thinking?! I know…I know…it’s all for love. LOVE!!

  2. Genesis 1:3 And God SAID, “Let there be light,” and there was light.
    He spoke and it was created.

    He created us in His image…hence the ‘power.’ Being a mom I have been given a responsibility that comes with a heavy price. My words build up and they tear down…my first key word is ‘Grace.’ I live grace at every level. Many things have passed my lips that I would surely take back, and by the same token I pray that other things I have said or shared were a blessing. A blessing that would reap lovely fruit. Words of love, kindness, encouragment and so on. Many times I wish words did not have the power they do…or better yet, I think how much better all things would be if we did not have the ‘free will’ to contend with. How it wouldn’t have to be a daily struggle to keep my thoughts pure, kind, loving, and focused on God. How the selfishness creeps in. The self centeredness….and then the actions….and then the inserting foot in mouth….then key word ‘Forgiveness.’ Along with free will he gave a boat load of grace and forgiveness…an enternity full.
    I enjoy reading your words…keep up the blog. It is a gift to be able to have such true and meaningful thoughts and then to be able to put them into words. That is not my gift but I still enjoy sharing in the blog world.
    Other key words in my life…love, truth, honesty, acceptance…….

    • Forgiveness! Grace! Two biggies, for sure. Thank you so much for reading and commenting. I know without a doubt that your children and others have been and will continue to be blessed by your words of encouragement. I’m glad you can relate to sometimes wishing we didn’t have as much free will as we do. But you’re right…a boat load of grace and forgiveness is ours, too. Thank you for your words and your gifts!!

  3. I also put too much stock in Wikipedia… Personally I love that you are doing a blog (and that you inspired me to do so as well). You are funny, Twinner, I love reading your posts! ❤

    P.S. I thought "Grease" was the word… 🙂

Leave a Reply

